Home | Tools & Resources | Lessons | Guitar Duels | Messageboard | Member Profiles | Search | Log In

How To Spell Out Different Chords

Defualt User ImageSnowRose
12:26 am Saturday
January 7, 2006
Reply || Reply With Quote || Report
I am new to guitar and wanted to learn how you spell out a chord.

Say for example, you want A(Augmented), which is 1-3-#5. However, do you translate it from an A(major), which is 1-3-5? Which means, is it from A-C#-E (Amajor) to A-C#-F (Aaugmented)?

I read the lesson, but I am still quite confused. Thanks, much help is appreciated.
User ImageBillyJack
9:55 am Saturday
January 7, 2006
Re: How To Spell Out Different Chords

Quote From SnowRose:
I am new to guitar and wanted to learn how you spell out a chord.

Say for example, you want A(Augmented), which is 1-3-#5. However, do you translate it from an A(major), which is 1-3-5?
Yes
[quote:6b3e93a300]Which means, is it from A-C#-E (Amajor) to A-C#-F (Aaugmented)?Yes

[quote:6b3e93a300]I read the lesson, but I am still quite confused. Thanks, much help is appreciated.You're probly thinking too much and that's why you're confusing yourself.

Stating with the "A" note, write out all the notes that follow "A" until you get back to "A" an octive higher.
Like this: A-A#-B-C-C#-D-D#-E-F-F#-G-G#-A
Now take a look at what you wrote. That's all the notes in modern music theory that make up an octive. There are 13 notes if you count both the ROOT and OCTIVE "A". Now if you start in "C", you use the exact same notes in the exact same order you just begin and end in "C".
Like this: C-C#-D-D#-E-F-F#-G-G#-A-A#-B-C
This is called the CHROMATIC SCALE. It is our whole world. Everything we do is based from here. PERIOD. There is a space in between the notes in our little world of 13 notes and that space is consistant. The space between each of our notes is called a SEMITONE (or halftone). Now to create a WHOLETONE, you need two SEMITONEs.