Home | Tools & Resources | Lessons | Guitar Duels | Messageboard | Member Profiles | Search | Log In

Please Help Me With this Lick!

Defualt User ImageIwantShred
9:25 pm Friday
June 16, 2006
Reply || Reply With Quote || Report
Hello,

New here, cool place and wanted to ask those of you that CAN play and have been for years, to help me out with this lick.

I want to play it fast..really fast. I've been playing for a few years and i have alot of speed and can see that i'll have no problem reaching my goal since i've come a long way. I can do alot now and my speed is good and I can pick real well, fast and clean however the above lick has been giving me problems for years now and i'm fed up with it. i get fast with practice on anything except that particular lick. i can't tell exactly why i keep screwing it up but i'm just not getting it PLEASE help if you can do it or you're familiar with it. it's a mandatory pentatonic lick for being a bad ass. Jabs from the Scorpions does it the best and he uses it in just about every solo. what i need to know, from those that know this lick and i assume someone here has to Smile, is the following:

1. how to start the picking upstroke or downstroke
2. how to pick the 3rd (g) string, how to approach that after the hammer on on the b string? Upstroke or downstroke?
3. which finger to use for the g string note..pinky or ring finger. i've tried both and it's the same result.
4. i'd love to hear samples if possible please slow and fast

Is there a trick to this lick that i'm not getting? Thanks in advance.
User ImageT.A.Z
8:21 am Thursday
July 20, 2006
Hey there IwantShred welcome to GKN!

About this lick your right it is a must lick to being a bad ass rock player!! It is incredibly simple though.

I personally do this lick with my second finger on the G string on the 7th fret, then use my first finger at the 5th fret on the B string, and my third finger on the 8th fret.