Home | Tools & Resources | Lessons | Guitar Duels | Messageboard | Member Profiles | Search | Log In

A little help needed.

Defualt User ImageWornFrets
6:27 pm Thursday
December 20, 2007
Reply || Reply With Quote || Report
hello,

I have only one question since everything else comes with practice for me (including speed) but there's one thing that I have problems with. I need to build up my pinky finger. I've been playing for about 10 years and I can play Rock/Blues but for pieces or solos using classical licks (Neo-Classical etc) you must use the pinky alot and I just can't seem to get it to par with the other fingers.

I do a ton of pinky exercises such as up and down the strings using only 3-4 fingering but since I practice between 2-4 hrs a day..all that pinky work really fatigues my pinky and it gets sore after 2 days of heavy pinky exercises. It gets so fatigued, tired and sore that I have to take 3 days off before I can grab any frets again with my pinky. It's not an injury because I can tell the difference and it always goes away with rest but it's really annoying getting good and making great progress for a few days and then I have to take a rest. Do you have any advice for me? That's the only issue I seem to have, a weak pinky keeping me from playing the way I want to play and it doesn't seem to get stronger.

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. I've asked teachers before but I guess they've been playing so long that the only thing they remember about this is, to practice and keep practicing. Like I said I practice 2-4 hrs a day and it's been alomost a year I believe since I started to concentrate on the pinky but not getting much results. It's very frustrating since I seem to get exellent results from everything else that I practice hard on and that I stick to except this. Having a strong pinky is a must for me and for what I want to do.

Thanks in advance.
User Imagejeremy
12:22 am Friday
December 21, 2007