Home | Tools & Resources | Lessons | Guitar Duels | Messageboard | Member Profiles | Search | Log In

Playing fast licks...

User ImageKen
11:50 am Sunday
July 13, 2008
Reply || Reply With Quote || Report
Seems most of you guys here are lightning fast in your leads..
I haven´t got around to seeing what´s available on this site yet for this, but if you have heard my music, you´ll see i´m more of a rhythm player than a lead...
Anyhow, I would appreciate any steering in the right direction for increasing the speed.
I´m naturally slower fingered, but i´m sure I can improve.
Do you think some people just cant play fast?
User ImageMike Lindyn
1:15 pm Sunday
July 13, 2008
I don´t know if some people CAN´T play fast but I do think there is a little bit of natural ability required to play really really fast. For example, Shawn Lane said that he had developed all of his technique by 14. I started playing at 14 and a half and by the time I was 17 I developed most of the speed I have now (Even though I´m much better now than when I was 17).

As to getting faster. Here is a quick list of things that should help:

1) Practice with Scales. Scales are a great way to build your speed and your ear. Here are a couple of lessons from GKN to get you started with your scales. All our example lessons here will use the G Major Scale. Scale Lesson One shows different ways the same scale can be arranged on your fretboard (Box Form, 3 Note Per String, 2 Note Per String, and more.). Scale Lesson Two shows how you can take one scale fingering and play it a bunch of different ways. This one is a great workout too. Once you have all this down for the G Major Scale try it with harmonic minor.

2) I know your into bluesy stuff Ken and so I would also suggest watch these as they will help you see how speed can be use with pentatonic scales:
Shawn Lane Pentatonic Lesson 1:

Shawn Lane Pentatonic Lesson 2: